Passion of the Christ

The Passion Flower (Passiflora) is thought to symbolise the Passion of the Christ:

  • The pointed tips of the leaves  represent the Holy Lance
  • The tendrils represent the whips  used to beat Christ.
  • The ten petals and sepals represent the ten faithful apostles.
  • The flower’s radial filaments represent the crown of thorns
  • The chalice-shaped ovary with its  recepticle represents a hammer or the  Holy Grail.
  • The three stigmata represent the three nails.
  • The five stamen below them the five wounds of Christ (four by the nails and one by the lance).

Five wounds. My friend checks. Yes – five wounds. My throat tightens and my eyes prick with tears. Searing, agonizing wounds. Wounded for me. Jesus died for me. He loves *me*. And *all* sin is forgiven because of those five wounds.  Jesus wants me as His friend. My Best Friend bled for me.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s