Taste the Rainbow 🌈

As I cack-handedly gave the children’s address this morning, offering M and Ms (other sugar-coated chocolates are available) in an attempt to demonstrate that colour is inconsequential to taste, this is the slogan that was running amok in my mind. I didn’t use Skittles (they supposedly taste different) but the rainbow was there.

I put it there, in flag format. Asked why the rainbow flag might be used as a symbol of the Pride movement. To symbolise the love and diversity – which come from nature – and which can combine in beautiful ways to form Light.

God’s spirit will be poured out upon all people.

The M and Ms demonstration didn’t (strictly speaking) work. But, it wasn’t so easy to detect colour, as it was taste. And, no matter what we look like from the outside, we have the same need to meet with God (chocolate) on the inside.  God, who can cope with all our differences (speak to us in multiple languages) and love us completely, no matter where we are spiritually, or on the LGBT+ rainbow.

IMG_1311.JPG

Easy to say. So hard to believe. I went to Pride yesterday. And I marched beneath my church’s banner. And I looked up and smiled at people as we went past. And I have never done any of that before. I have chosen instead to abstain, or to hide on the field. Never to be out there.

But it felt good, and the sun was shining, and I felt like I was acceptable, and that I belonged. Now, that was yesterday. And old feelings of judgement from my University days, from Christian friends, who claimed that they would never judge, yet proved to be the most judgemental of all. Of feeling bad and twisted, and unacceptable.

Those feelings are so hard to push a way. I find it so hard to believe that I am loved in God’s eyes, as I am. I feel judgement. I feel undeserving; that I want to hide away. I am frightened of being part of the rainbow.

This entry was posted in Bible, church, faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taste the Rainbow 🌈

  1. Jamie Carter says:

    When I began to accept that I was an ally, I was more than a little afraid. I kept on wondering if I getting the Bible right or was falling into the worst heresy possible. My church would have said that the latter was the case, but a small whisper inside was urging me toward the former. I found it hard to forgive the church for what it had done though – telling me to hate the sin and love the sinner was a mixed message given that this sin was their identity and in order to hate it, I’d have to hate them, too – so far as they were sinning sinners. I mean – if you were told to hate plumbing, but to love plumbers – well, plumbers do plumbing and that’s what makes them who they are. Do you see how messed up that is? It’s really a betrayal of loving others because you can’t accept them with that sort of mindset. There’s always a “but”; “I’d love you, but you’re in the wrong kind of relationship … ” “I’d love you, but you love the wrong person … ” “I’d love you, but you don’t even know if you’re a man or a woman …” “… I’d love you, but I really don’t have to love you at all as long as you’re a confused sinner.” Now that fear is gone, I know that I’ve got the Bible right, I’m just worried that the heresy that the church teaches is unstoppable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

