Opening the Jar

Pandora opened it and all evil contained therein escaped and spread over the earth. She hastened to close the container, but the whole contents had escaped; Except for one thing that lay at the bottom – the Spirit of Hope.

The lid won’t keep shut anymore. The crises, the assessments, blew the top off the jar, and now all the rubbish won’t be squeezed back inside.

image

I used to be able to keep everything in that jar separate. Any emotion attached to the experiences I had as a child was safely locked away. This was good. I still had the memories, and I could use them in my research, my teaching, safely. It was almost like the memories weren’t my memories: like it had all happened to someone else entirely. My career was going well.

Then the box started to leak. The stories I was told by children came too close to my story. Their emotion meshed with the feelings buried deep in the jar and the feelings escaped. And I despaired as the jar opened and emptied, and I felt that I would never be able to cope.

And since then, more rubbish has been added, and I am screaming inside, as the lid won’t stay fast. Screaming and screaming, and nobody hears. The screaming is anger at a church body that doesn’t fully accept the LGBT community. I try to speak the anger, but find it barely touched. I feel left out of the church that I love: pushed out from where I thought I belonged. I was fooling myself. Childhood memories’ of being excluded flood my mind. It’s not about marriage anymore. This is all I can see. I will never belong anywhere. I implode. A river of self-hatred runs through me. I cry to God: I am exhausted from pushing against its tide. It bleeds into my arms, etches into my wrists. I do not see the point anymore. I’ll never be truly accepted even when I think that I am.

After the bleeding, there is calm. I am crying. But I can breathe. Hope flutters Her wings in the bottom of the jar. Its other contents are safe with Her. She has heard. I am held.

This entry was posted in character, mental health, prayer, reasoning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

