Good Thursday

I have been meaning to type this post for a while, to help me remember that things can go right,  that I can face challenges and overcome them, and that I am good at what I do.

So here goes. A couple of Thursdays ago, I actually did a proper, full day’s work. I spent the morning on data entry, and finished it. Two thousand and eighty plus Time  2 questionnaires accounted for, and coded.  Cue dance of joy around the office.

Set up a GoogleChat time in the afternoon for my partner to talk me through a Matlab code he’d written while I tried to input it and make it *work*.  Two hours of de-bugging and “what’s it saying now?” later, and the data from one school is processed ready for SPSS (read: nightmare statistics package, only used by those with no better sense than to be quantitative social scientists). The data is officially in.

Five pm. But if I don’t get that review written, then I won’t have time before I said I’d get it back to get it done. So I set to it. I read the paper. I write the review. I feel competent. I read line manager’s review. Mine is five times its length.  But it’s done 🙂

And later I find out that my manager really liked my thorough review, and used it as the basis of the return review, with minor changes. I can work. In God’s strength.

All I need to do now, is remember to trust in God when things don’t go to plan, as well as when they do. Hmmm. OK.

This entry was posted in plans, trust, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

