Sometimes, you have to be a little bit naughty

Matilda1One of the first books I read to myself was Roald Dahl’s Matilda. I loved the book, not only because Matilda was brainy and cool (which I longed to be) but because she could make things move, like magic, with her eyes. And I could do that, too. Kind of. I would spend ages, staring at the fingers of my right hand, willing them to move. And sometimes – when, aged seven,  I’d spent long enough staring and willing, with my palm flat (or near-flat) on a table one of my fingers would raise itself – like magic :-).

I was utterly enthralled by Matilda – A Musical too (as I may have mentioned before – many apologies). My favourite bit of this wasn’t the magic object-moving (with Matilda’ help I’ve gotten better at moving my fingers by staring at them)  – it was a song called ‘Naughty’ (words are here). At the moment, it’s sung here by Adrianna Bertola.

I love the sentiment the song expresses – that your path is not set in stone for you by others (God excepted), and that you have the power to change it – if you want to – however little you may be. It also advocates that, in order to do this, sometimes you have to be a little bit ‘naughty’. I don’t think this applies to me per se – but I am guilty of letting people walk all over me, make decisions for me, and then hating them for doing it. So maybe I need to be a little more – assertive? selfish? Something along those lines.

I find being more selfish hard to reconcile with a God-following lifestyle. But then again, the anger and blunt hate generated from shy selflessness can’t be very Godly… thoughts welcome.

This entry was posted in character, morality, reasoning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes, you have to be a little bit naughty

  1. Pingback: “I was not called to be a doormat” | Discovering Faith (and Doubt and Hope) in Jesus

Leave a Reply

