Bearing Fruit

But the fruit of the Holy Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law. ” Galatians 5: 22-23

The Holy Spirit is living in me. Supposedly. I’m beginning to wonder if said Holy Spirit is alive, or whether my doubt, sin, and lack of prayer has choked it completely.

I managed to show none of the above fruits to one of my Brownies yesterday. I snapped at her harshly, after having had enough of her attitude.  Long-suffering? Definitely not. Gentleness? I don’t think so. Self-control? Angry. Snapped. No control.

I feel rubbish about the way I treated her. I could have responded to her so much more calmly and considerately. Why didn’t I? What possessed me to be so quick-tempered? Why didn’t the Holy Spirit respond to her before I did? So angry with myself. Angry I don’t respond more to the Holy Spirit; that I let it choke.

This entry was posted in character and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

