Damaging Minds

So I suffer from depression now and again. So what? Five percent of the UK population do, at any one time, too. So – my partner reckons that religion, belief in God is the root cause of all my psychological difficulties. I do not. I think that the sense of belongingness and feeling wanted that I’ve had in church groups has been really wonderful, and having faith that God is there – well –  without that, I probably wouldn’t be writing this at all.

Further than that, my partner believes that the work I do with children is damaging them (he puts it more strongly than this). That to encourage a belief in them in the supernatural (which children are given to anyway) is something they’ll find it very difficult to ‘recover’ from in later life.

I enrolled seven Brownies yesterday. I asked them to promise that they would do their best to love their God. I am trying to prepare a piece for the girls to perform at a Church Parade service in a few weeks’ time. My partner classifies this as evil.

In times of faith I disagree with my partner. God is there, and the children should learn of Him. At other times I feel evil and horrid, and wonder whether I am doing the right thing. I never challenge the children’s conceptions of ‘God’. I need to learn to know God, “like a little child”, so why should I? I try to encourage them to express what they think of Him, and reinforce it. Is that wrong? Damaging?

This entry was posted in character, children, disability, faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

